5 November 2023
Budapest Music Center


5 November 2023 12:00 pm
Budapest Music Center
1093 Budapest, Mátyás utca 8.

On the Day of Listening this year we remember the late violist of the Keller Quartet, Zoltán Gál.

A festival atmosphere, unusual encounters and cathartic musical experiences await everyone on the Day of Listening at the Budapest Music Center. András Keller said about the festival earlier: "Listening can mean understanding, silence, contemplation, wonder, discovery. As for the programme, he considered it important to "have a kaleidoscopic view of contemporary music, with the great composers of the past as a benchmark and companion".

Peter Eötvös, Concerto Budapest's first guest conductor, said of the musical delights of the programme, "At the Day of Listening, genre restrictions are finally broken down, we fly freely through different centuries, styles, small ensembles, large ensembles, soloists... it's like a culinary treat from a Michelin-starred menu."

The complete live video-broadcast is available for re-watch at theviolinchannel.com until the end of November 2023.



12:00 pm, Concert No. 1, Concert Hall

György Ligeti: Three Pieces for Two Pianos 
Dobrinka Tabakova: Concerto for Viola and Strings
Máté Balogh: Tiefhornfantasie aus den Ostalpen (Premiere)

Görög Sisters - piano, Maxim Rysanov - violin, Hunor Varga - horn, Concerto Budapest
Gergely Dubóczky

2:00 pm, Concert No. 2, Concert Hall

Paul Hindemith: Concerto for Trumpet, Bassoon and strings
Roland Szentpáli: Abraham and Isaac (Premiere)
Alessio Elia: Celestial Keys (Premiere)
Miklós Perényi: Per sette archi (Premiere)
Zoltán Jeney: Sindbad - suite from the music to the Zoltán Huszárik film 

Bálint Mohai - bassoon, Gábor Devecsai - trumpet, Tibor Takács - tuba, János Benyus - horn, Márta Murányi - soprano, Judit Varga-Szathmáry - soprano, Zsófia Környei, Zsuzsanna Berentés - violin, Janka Szomor Mekis - viola, László Móré - viola, Ákos Takács - cello, János Aranyos - cello, György Schweigert - double bass, László Kéringer - tenor, András Keller - violin, Orsolya Kaczander - flute, Ligeti Ensemble, Concerto Budapest
László Tihanyi, András Keller

3:00 pm, Concert No. 3, Opus Jazz Club

Peter Eötvös: Para Paloma
Peter Eötvös: Adventures of the Dominant Seventh Chord
Peter Eötvös: a Call
Peter Eötvös: PSY
Giovanni da Firenze: Quand’ Amor (Transcribed by Ákos Zarándy)
Guillaume Dufay: Belle veullies moy retenir (Transcribed by Ákos Zarándy)
Ákos Zarándy: Border Lights of Silence (Premiere)

Miranda Liu - violin, Janka Szomor Mekis - viola, Orsolya Kaczander - flute, Lenka Petrovic - arpa, Csaba Klenyán - clarinet

5:00 pm, Concert No. 4, Concert Hall

Gyula Csapó: Concerto per Pianoforte ed un ambiente che cambia (Premiere)

Zoltán Fejérvári - piano
Concerto Budapest
Gergely Dubóczky

6:30 pm, Concert No. 5, Opus Jazz Club

Zoltán Jeney: Canone enigmatico
Gábor Csalog: The Upper Light
Zoltán Jeney: Soliloquium No. 5 - to Péter Esterházy
Ádám Kondor: In nomine (Premiere)
László Tihanyi: Three  Note Papers, Op. 73
László Tihanyi: Three Bagatelles for Wind Quintet
György Ligeti: 6 Bagatellen (from Musica Ricercata)

Csaba Klenyán - clarinet, Csilla Csővári - soprano, Gábor Csalog - piano, Orsolya Winkler, Áron Soós - violin, Előd Soós - viola, János Aranyos - cello, Orsolya Kaczander - flute, Béla Horváth - oboe, Bálint Mohai - bassoon, Péter Lakatos - horn

8:00 pm, Concert No. 6, Concert Hall

Bernstein: about the 9th Symphony of Beethoven
: F major String Quartet No. 16, Op. 135
: Deux Mélodies Hébraiques - Kaddish
: Chamber Symphony op 110/a
Péter Eötvös: Cadenza (from "Shadows")
Paul Hindemith: Trauermusik
Richard Strauss: Metamorphosen
Olivier Messiaen: Quartet for the End of Time (Mov. 8)

Maxim Rysanov - viola, András Keller - violin, Gábor Csalog - piano, Concerto Budapest
András Keller


1000 HUF/Concert (Availbale at concertobudapest.jegy.hu)

Further information: