Bónis, Ferenc: Mosonyi, Mihály

ISBN9638278 2000


Mihály Mosonyi (1815-1870) was undoubtedly an important and original member of that great triumvirate of Hungarian composers of the Romantic period which also included Liszt and Erkel.

His creative life falls into two clearly defined periods. Until 1857 he composed a succession of sacred, symphonic and chamber works in the late Viennese Classical style. In 1859 his musical technique underwent a sudden transformation and he became the pioneer of a new national style in Hungarian music, using only national idioms.
His music has been neglected for far too long, probably as a result of his untimely death and changing audience tastes. Research by 20th-century musicologists, coupled with a resurgence of interest by performers, has resulted in renewed interest in Mosonyi.
This monograph – the author’s second on the composer – is a response to that interest, and has the added advantage of incorporating the results of the most recent researches.

Author: Ferenc Bónis
Editor, series editor: Melinda Berlász (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Institue for Musicology)
Published by Magus Publishers Ltd
Publishing director: Emőke Tóth
Compositor: Béla Gera

Supported by National Cultural Fund

Already published in the series:

Bárdos, Lajos (1899-1986)
Bihari, János (1764-1827)
Bozay, Attila (1939-1999)
Csíky, Boldizsár (1937)
Dávid, Gyula (1913-1977)
Decsényi, János (1927)
Dohnányi, Ernõ (1877.1960)
Dubrovay, László (1943)
Durkó, Zsolt (1934-1997)
Egressy, Béni (1814-1851)
Farkas, Ferenc (1905-2000)
Fusz, János (1777-1819)
Gárdonyi, Zoltán (1906-1986)
Horusitzky, Zoltán (1903-1985)
Hubay, Jenő (1858-1937)
Huszár, Lajos (1948)
Istvánffy, Benedek (1733-1778)
Járdányi, Pál (1920-1966)
Jeney, Zoltán (1943-2019)
Kadosa, Pál (1903-1983)
Kocsár, Miklós (1933-2019)
Kósa, György (1897-1984)
Kurtág, György (1926)
Lavotta, János (1764-1820)
Lendvay, Kamilló (1928)
Maros, Rudolf (1917-1982)
Mihalovich, Ödön (1842-1929)
Mosonyi, Mihály (1815-1870)
Petrovics, Emil (1930-2011)
Pongrácz, Zoltán (1912-2007)
Ránki, György (1907-1992)
Sári, József (1935)
Soproni, József (1930-2021)
Sugár, Rezsõ (1919-1988)
Szokolay, Sándor (1931-2013)
Szõnyi, Erzsébet (1924-2019)
Szőllősy, András (1921-2007)
Vántus, István (1935-1992)
Verebi, Végh János (1845-1918)
Vermesy, Péter (1939-1989)
Vidovszky, László (1944)
Volkmann, Robert (1815-1883)

1500 HUF