Laskai Anna: Dávid, Gyula (English)

ISBN9786158060127 2016


Gyula Dávid (1913–-1977) was a typical representative of the generation of composers emerging after World War II.

In the first period of his activity, composing on the basis of traditional principles attained as a pupil of Kodály and the first-hand experience of Hungarian folk music played a decisive role. Later some trends oozing in from the West as novelties in Hungary urged him – and many of his contemporaries – to revive his musical language. The last phase of his oeuvre is characterized by a synthesis of his dodecaphonic experiments and his traditional idiom.
Though his best-known composition of lasting success is the Viola Concerto, his orchestral, vocal, and chamber music pieces still deserve the attention of the music-loving public. With his First Wind Quintet, he launched and laid the foundation in Hungary of the 20th-century history of a genre so-far predominated by foreign composers only.
This booklet is an attempt to sketch a portrait of this many-sided composer of a lyrical frame of mind.

Author: Anna Laskai
Editor, series editor: Melinda Berlász (Institute for Musicology, Research Centre for Humanities)
Translated by Judit Pokoly
English language editor: István Csaba Németh
Published by Budapest Music Center
Publishing director: László Gőz
Contributing editor of BMC: András Kégl
Compositor: Enikő Zágoni Szakács

The publication can be purchased in person at the BMC Library for a price of HUF 1,500, and can also be ordered from the Editio Musica Budapest webshop.

Full series:

Already published in the series:

Bárdos, Lajos (1899-1986)
Bihari, János (1764-1827)
Bozay, Attila (1939-1999)
Csíky, Boldizsár (1937)
Dávid, Gyula (1913-1977)
Decsényi, János (1927)
Dohnányi, Ernő (1877.1960)
Dubrovay, László (1943)
Durkó, Zsolt (1934-1997)
Egressy, Béni (1814-1851)
Farkas, Ferenc (1905-2000)
Fusz, János (1777-1819)
Gárdonyi, Zoltán (1906-1986)
Horusitzky, Zoltán (1903-1985)
Hubay, Jenő (1858-1937)
Huszár, Lajos (1948)
Istvánffy, Benedek (1733-1778)
Járdányi, Pál (1920-1966)
Jeney, Zoltán (1943-2019)
Kadosa, Pál (1903-1983)
Kocsár, Miklós (1933-2019)
Kósa, György (1897-1984)
Kurtág, György (1926)
Lavotta, János (1764-1820)
Lendvay, Kamilló (1928)
Maros, Rudolf (1917-1982)
Mihalovich, Ödön (1842-1929)
Mosonyi, Mihály (1815-1870)
Orbán, György (1947)
Petrovics, Emil (1930-2011)
Pongrácz, Zoltán (1912-2007)
Ránki, György (1907-1992)
Sári, József (1935)
Soproni, József (1930-2021)
Sugár, Rezső (1919-1988)
Szokolay, Sándor (1931-2013)
Szőnyi, Erzsébet (1924-2019)
Szőllősy, András (1921-2007)
Vántus, István (1935-1992)
Verebi, Végh János (1845-1918)
Vermesy, Péter (1939-1989)
Vidovszky, László (1944)
Volkmann, Robert (1815-1883)

1500 HUF 4 EUR