Artist database

This is the Artist Database of BMC, which includes information about composers, musicians, orchestras, choirs and groups that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary, as well as information about releases recorded with them.

Horváth László


Place of Birth
Date of Birth

László Horváth was born into a musical family in Kőszeg in 1945. First he learnt the violin, then began clarinet studies under his father’s guidance. At the Music School of Szombathely his teacher was Mrs. Petró. Between 1960 and 64 he attended the Music Secondary School in Győr under the guidance of József Apró. From 1964 to 1969 he studied in György Balassa’s class at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music. Between 1969 and 1970 he was on scholarship at the Paris Conservatoire as student of Prof. Ulysse Delecluse. In 1970 he won first prize and the jury’s prize at the International Clarinet Competition in Budapest. In 1972 he was the third-prize winner in Geneva, in 1973 he was among the top five in Munich. From 1965 he was a member of the Hungarian State Symphony Orchestra, then its first clarinetist. He has been on the Hungarian music scene since 1970 both as a soloist and chamber musician. He is a founder of the Philharmonia Wind Quintet. He has performed in nearly every European country, as well as in Japan and Australia. He has made radio recordings with the Hungarian Radio, and in Vienna, in Paris, in London with the BBC and in Tokyo with NHK. He has been involved in teaching since 1974, he taught at the Hig School of Music in Debrecen for five years and then at the Béla Bartók Music Secondary School in Budapest. He has taken part in several summer courses as teacher in Nyírbátor, Fertőd and Prades. He established the László Lajtha Memorial Camp in Kőszeg in 1992, which each year highlighting the life-work of a forgotten 20th century composer. In 1983 Klára Körmendi and László Horváth set up a piano-clarinet duo.

1993 Ferencsik János Memorial Award
1993 Liszt Ferenc Award
1999 Lajtha László Award
2001 Veress Sándor Award
Artisjus Award