Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

12 Songs


Original / Hungarian title
12 dal
Foreign language / English title
12 Songs
To the poems by E.E. Cummings, William Blake, Friedrich Hölderlin Dezső Tandori and Sándor Weöres - For soprano voice, violin and piano
to György Kurtág, Péter Eötvös, Sándor Weöres, Miklós Mészöly, Adrian Leverkühn
Year of composition

Solo voice(s) with solo instrument(s)
Number of players
S. - pf., vl.
30 min

Movements, parts
1. may i feel said he / kis tapintat (Cummings)
2. Világnyelv / World language (Tandori)
3. un (bee) mo / mo (mé) zd (Cummings)
4. in Just- / a Most- (Cummings)
5. ! o (rounD) moon, now / ó gömbölydeD hold, (Cummings)
6. n (nothing) / s (semmi), (Cummings)
7. Silent, Silent Night / Csöndes, csöndes éj (Blake)
8. Hold / Moon (Weöres)
9. Me up at does / Padló felől (Cummings)
10. annie died the other day / annie meghalt a minap (Cummings)
11. tw (two) / k (kettő) (Cummings)
12. Mnemosyne (Hölderlin)

CUMMINGS, E. E.; BLAKE, William; HÖLDERLIN, Friedrich; TANDORI Dezső; WEÖRES, Sándor
English / Hungarian / German
Premiere information
30 September 1983, Cologne, Germany; Brenda Hubbard (S.), Mathias Tacke (pf.), Michael Obst (vl.)
Publisher / Source
Editio Musica Budapest © 1985, Z. 13069
Buy here!
Hungaroton SLPX-12971, 1989 - Luisa Castellani (voice), András Keller (vl.), Zoltán Kocsis (pf.)
Hungaroton HCD-31653, 1996 - Luisa Castellani (voice), András Keller (vl.), Zoltán Kocsis (pf.)
1 min. sample
1 I. may i feel said he
2 II. World language
3 III. un (bee) mo
4 IV. in Just-
5 V. ! o
6 VI. n
7 VII. Silent, Silent Night
8 VIII. Hold
9 IX. Me up at does
10 X. annie died the other day
11 XI. tw
12 XII. Mnemosyne
Remarks, other info
Movements I and IX are with pf., movements II, V and XII are with vl., all other movements are with vl. and pf.

The movements are dedicated to: György Kurtág (No. 2), Péter Eötvös (No. 6), Sándor Weöres (No. 8), Miklós Mészöly (No. 9), Adrian Leverkühn (No. 7)



Title Publisher