Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Alef - Hommage a Schönberg


Original / Hungarian title
Alef - Hommage a Schönberg
Foreign language / English title
Alef - Hommage a Schönberg
For large orchestra
to Goffredo Petrassi
Year of composition

Symphony orchestra
3 fl. (II fl.a., III picc.), 3 ob. (III, 5 cl. (III in mi b, IV cl.b.), 3 fg. (III anche cfg.) - 4 cor., 4 tr. (IV tr.b. in mi b), 4 trb. (IV trb.b.), tuba - 2 org.el., Hammond org. - strings: 16 vl., 10 vla., 8 vlc., 6 cb.
13 min

Movements, parts
One movement

Premiere information
19 June 1972, Hungarian Radio, Budapest; Hungarian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Ervin Lukács (cond.) (Broadcasted studio performance)

1 October 1994, Budapest; Savaria Symphony Orchestra, László Tihanyi (cond.) (First public performance)

8 December 2018, Great Hall, Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music, Budapest; Concerto Budapest, Zoltán Rácz (cond.) (Revised version)
Publisher / Source
Editio Musica Budapest, Z. 10147 (special order. Material on hire
Available here!
Hungaroton HCD-31653, 1996 - Budapest Symphony Orchestra, Péter Eötvös (cond.)
1 min. sample
1 Alef - Hommage a Schönberg
Remarks, other info
Composed: 1971 - 1972, revised: 2018



Title Publisher