Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

String Quartett No. 2


Original / Hungarian title
II. Vonósnégyes
Foreign language / English title
String Quartett No. 2
Year of composition

Chamber Music
Number of players
strings: vl. 1, vl. 2, vla., vc.
Movements, parts
1. Allegro fuoco e ben ritmico
2. Allegretto giocoso
3. Adagio molto
4. Allegro agitato

Premiere information
1968, Hungarian Radio, Budapest; Bartók String Quartet
Publisher / Source
Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest © 1968, Z. 5747 (Z. 5748, parts)
Available here!
Hungaroton LPX-11523, 1971 - Bartók String Quartet
Remarks, other info
Revised: 1978