Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Quartetto d´archi No. 2 / String Quartett No. 2


Original / Hungarian title
Quartetto d´archi No. 2 / II. Vonósnégyes
Foreign language / English title
Quartetto d´archi No. 2 / String Quartett No. 2
Year of composition

Chamber Music
Number of players
strings: vl. 1, vl. 2, vla., vlc.
Movements, parts
1. Allegro fuoco e ben ritmico
2. Allegretto giocoso
3. Adagio molto
4. Allegro Agitato

Premiere information
Spring 1968, Hungarian Radio; Bartók String Quartet
Publisher / Source
Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest © 1968, Z. 5747, 5748
Available here!
Hungaroton LPX-11523, 1971 - Erika Sziklai (S.), Tibor Dittrich (cl.), Árpád Szász (vlc.), Ádám Fellegi (pf.), Ferenc Petz (perc.), János Sándor (cond.)
Remarks, other info
Revised: 1978