Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Vörösmarty - Symphony in Five Sections


Original / Hungarian title
Vörösmarty - Szimfónia öt részben
Foreign language / English title
Vörösmarty - Symphony in Five Sections
For large orchestra
"To My Master, Zoltán Kodály for His 70th Birthday"
Year of composition

Symphony orchestra
3 fl. (III anche picc.), 2 ob., 2 cl., 2 fg. - 4 cor., 3 tr., 3 trb., tuba - timp., perc. (gr.c., ptti., camp., trg. ) - arpa - strings: vl. 1, vl. 2, vla., vlc., cb.
30 min

Movements, parts
1. Hazádnak rendületlenül
2. Virág és pillangó
3. Hová merült el szép szemed világa
4. Harci dal
5. A vén cigány

Premiere information
18 February 1953, Budapest; János Ferencsik (cond.)
1959, London
Publisher / Source
Editio Musica Budapest © 1954, J-18 (or Z. 1029)
Available here!
Hungaroton HCD-31742, 2000 - Szent István Király Oratorio Choir, Szent István Király Symphony Orchestra, János Ács (cond.)