Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Four Movements for Brass Quintet (Brass Quintet No. 1)


Original / Hungarian title
Négy tétel rézfúvós kvintettre (I. rézfúvós kvintett)
Foreign language / English title
Four Movements for Brass Quintet (Brass Quintet No. 1)
Year of composition

Chamber Music
Number of players
2 tr., cor., trb., tuba
7 min

Movements, parts
1. Adagio
2. Allegro
3. Allegretto
4. Grave molto sostenuto

Premiere information
8 May 1974, Budapest; Modern Brass Ensemble: István Somorjai, Ferenc Csatos (tr.), Jenő Keveházi (cor.), Gusztáv Hőna (trb.), Vilmos Szabó (tuba)
Publisher / Source
Edition Vindobone, Wien
Hungaroton HCD 32002, 2000 - Ewald Brass Quintet: Levente Bakó, Tarkó Tamás (tr.), András Kovalcsik (cor.), Róbert Káip (trb.), Tamás Kelemen (tuba)
1 min. sample
1 1. Adagio
2 2. Allegro
3 3. Allegretto
4 4. Grave molto sostenuto