Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Requiem der Versöhnung / Requiem of Reconcilation / Requiem de la Réconciliation


Original / Hungarian title
Requiem der Versöhnung
Foreign language / English title
Requiem der Versöhnung / Requiem of Reconcilation / Requiem de la Réconciliation
Year of composition

Solo voice(s), choir & orchestra
soloists, choir, orchestra
107 min

Movements, parts
I. Prolog (Luciano Berio) 5:37
II. Introitus und Kyrie (Friedrich Cerha) 9:16
III. Sequenz - Dies irae (Paul-Heinz Dittrich) 11:02
IV. Judex ergo (Marek Kopelent) 7:53
V. Juste judex (John Harbison) 5:48
VI. Confutatis (Arne Nordheim) 8:13
VII. Interludium (Bernard Rands) 11:36
VIII. Offertorium (Marc-André Dalbavie) 7:34
IX. Sanctus (Judith Weir) 6:37
X. Agnus Dei (Krzysztof Penderecki) 7:35
XI. Communio I (Wolfgang Rihm) 4:49
XII. Communio II (Alfred Schnittke / Gennadi Roschdestwenski) 5:17
XIII. Responsorium (Joji Yuasa) 12:26
XIV. Epilog (György Kurtág) 3:15

Latin - English
Commissioned by
International Bach Academy (Stuttgart), for the "Europeaische Musikfest Stuttgart" in memory of the victims of the Second World War
Premiere information
16 August 1995, Stuttgart, Gaechinger Kantorei; Cracow Chamber Choir, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Helmuth Rilling (cond.)
Hänssler Classic 98.931
Remarks, other info
Joint work with Luciano Berio, Friedrich Cerha, Marc-André Dalbavie, Paul-Heinz Dittrich, John Harbison, Marek Kopelent, Arne Nordheim, Krzysztof Penderecki, Bernard Rands, Wolfgang Rihm, Gennadi Roschdestwenski, Alfred Schnittke, Judith Weir and Joji Yuasa

György Kurtág’s part, the Epilog is virtually identical with Movements 4 & 5 of Messages for Orchestra Op. 34