23 February 2024


23 February 2024. 6:00 pm
Budapest Music Center - Library
1093 Budapest, Mátyás utca 8.

The Szabó Dániel Nonett integrates the more constrained formal language of classical music with the improvisational soaring of jazz. The group was a great success at the "Ligeti 100" festival at the BMC in May 2023. The orchestra's leader-composer Szabó selects gems from the history of music and reworks them for the nine-piece chamber ensemble, which also includes a jazz rhythm section. This evenings program will include masterpieces by Béla Bartók, György Ligeti, Dmitri Shostakovich and Maurice Ravel in a new guise and tailored to the personality of the ensemble. The musical vocabulary of the classical works, the ancient power of folk music and the expressive freedom of jazz are all reflected in the arrangements. The members of the orchestra are all eminent figures on the national and international music scene, who are able to touch on several idioms at once.

The concert was made possible by the support of the MOL-New Europe Foundation in the framework of the Felhangolva! (Tuned Up) program. More details and programs: felhangolva.hu



Works by Béla Bartók, György Ligeti, Dmitri Shostakovich and Maurice Ravel


Dániel Szabó - piano, compositions, transcriptions
Berta Bánki - flute
Mihály Borbély - clarinet, saxophones
András Zászkaliczky - oboe
Jákob Bettermann - bassoon
Mihály Bajusznács - bass clarinet
Balázs Kántor - cello
Marcell Gyányi - double bass
Dániel Ferenc Szabó - drums, percussions




Free entry! Seating is on a first-come, first-served basis.

Further information: