Artist database

This is the Artist Database of BMC, which includes information about composers, musicians, orchestras, choirs and groups that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary, as well as information about releases recorded with them.

Götz Nándor

saxophone, clarinet

Place of Birth
Date of Birth

Nándor Götz was born on the 18th August 1966 in Budapest. He was studying at the Béla Bartók Secondary School of Music, and then at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest, where his professors were Béla Kovács and József Balogh. He received his diploma of clarinet artist and professor with distinction in 1991. He played with the International Orchestra of Yehudi Menuhin in Paris between 1989 and 1991; also he was a clarinet professor at the Béla Bartók Secondary School of Music. In 1991 with the Academy Quintet they won the special prize of the jury for the best interpretation of the contemporary music at the Competition of Chamber Music in Trapani (Italy). In 1992 at the International Competition Clarinet of Trieste he won fourth place. In the recent years he has played with different orchestras, like Hungarian State Symphony Orchestra, Budapest Symphony Orchestra of the Hungarian Radio, Budapest Festival Orchestra, and Münster Symphony Orchestra in Germany.

Beside of the clarinet he had studied of saxophone, and set himself an aim to discover and popularize this instrument for the XXth century music. He has several transcripitons for clarinet and saxophone, e.g.:

- Chaminade: Concertino
- Debussy: Arabesque No.1-2
- Debussy: Images pour orchestre
- Debussy: The Little Shepherd
- Debussy: Golliwog's Cake-Walk
- Debussy: Syrinx
- Debussy: La Danse de Puck
- Debussy: L'isle joyeuse
- Franck: Sonata in A major, I-IV.
- Rachmaninov: Vocalise
- Ravel: Sonata in G major, I-III.
- Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin - Prelude
- Ravel: Pavane
- Ravel: Sonata Posthumus
- Satie: Gymnopedies No.1-3
- Satie: Gnossiennes No.1-6
- Satie: Burocratic Sonata
- R. Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel
- Stravinsky: Petruska

He was honored with Artisjus Prize in 2022.
Year Title Publisher Code Remark
2003 Sáry László: Tánczene
(Dance Music)
BMC Records BMC CD 069
2009 Bach, Johann Christian: Symphonie concertanti Capriccio C7005