Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

The Harmony of Silence


Original / Hungarian title
A csend harmóniája
Foreign language / English title
The Harmony of Silence
For large orchestra
to János Petró, Chief Conductor of the Savaria Symphony Orchestra
Year of composition

Symphony orchestra
5 fl. (IV, V anche picc.), 3 ob. (III anche, 3 cl. (III anche cl.b.), 3 fg. (III anche cfg.) - 4 cor., 3 tr., 3 trb., tuba - arpa, prepared pf. - strings: 12 vl. 1, 10 vl. 2, 8 vla., 6 vlc., 5 cb.
12 min

Movements, parts
One movement

Commissioned by
the Savaria Symphony Orchestra
Premiere information
1981, Concert Hall, Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest; Savaria Symphony Orchestra, János Petró (cond.)
Publisher / Source
Editio Musica Budapest, L. 15
Available here!
Hungaroton HCD-32064, 2001 - Savaria Symphony Orchestra, János Petró (cond.) (Available on
Hungaroton SLPX-12516, 1986 - Savaria Symphony Orchestra, János Petró (cond.)
1 min. sample
1 The Harmony of Silence