Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Scenes from the Hungarian Age Of Cavalry


Original / Hungarian title
Jelenetek a magyar lovagkorból
Foreign language / English title
Scenes from the Hungarian Age Of Cavalry
Suite for wind orchestra in four movements
Year of composition

Wind orchestra
3 fl. (I, III anche picc.), 2 ob., 5 cl. (V anche cl.b.), 2 fg., 3 sax. - 4 cor., 2 flic., 4 tr., 3 trb., 2 euph., 2 tuba - timp., perc. - cb.
22 min

Movements, parts
1. Minstrels, Priests, Knights
2. Buffons
3. Mourning and Consolation
4. Battle

Premiere information
25 July 1987, Boston (USA)
Publisher / Source
Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Z. 13424 and D-58 (on hire)
Available here!
Hungarian Radio, 1988 - Central Orchestra of the Hungarian Army, László Marosi (cond.)
Remarks, other info
Originally: Heroic Times.