Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Old Hungarian Texts


Original / Hungarian title
Régi magyar szövegek
Foreign language / English title
Old Hungarian Texts
Scenes for soprano and bass voices,2 pianos and chamber ensemble
to the memory of Benjamin Rajeczky
Year of composition

Solo voice(s) with ensemble
Number of players
S., B. solo - 2 pf. - fl. (anche picc.), cl. - cor. - timp., perc. - vlc., cb.
78 min

Movements, parts
1. Magyarok szimfóniája / Symphony of Hungarians
2. Szent Margit-legenda / Legend of Saint Margaret
3. Mózes / Moses
4. Klütemnesztra / Klutemnestra
5. Boszorkányper / Witchcraft Trial
6. Pontyi és Angyélika / Pontyi and Angelica
7. Petőfi
8. Epilógus / Epilogue

St. Gerard of Csanád; Ráskay Codex; biblical; BORNEMISZA, Péter; 18th century memorial; BESSENYEI, György; PETŐFI, Sándor; SZENDREY, Júlia; ARANY, János; EÖTVÖS
Hungarian / Latin
Commissioned by
Hungarian Radio
Premiere information
26 July 1993, Hungarian Radio Broadcast, Budapest

17 April 1994, Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music, Budapest; Adrienne Csengery (S.), Péter Fied (B.), Gábor Eckhardt, Imre Hargitai (pf.), Componensemble, Zsolt Serei (cond.)
Publisher / Source
Hungarian Radio S-94612-14, 1993
Hungaroton HCD-31713, 1997 - Adrienne Csengery (S.), Péter Fied (B), Gábor Eckhardt, Imre Hargitai (pf.), Componensemble, Zsolt Serei (cond.)
Remarks, other info
Oratorio, composed: 1988 - 1991

Texts from St. Gerard of Csanád, Ráskai-codex, Vizsoly Bible of Gáspár Károli, "Élektra" by Péter Bornemisza, 18th century Witchcraft Trial, György Bessenyei, poems of Sánodr Petőfi, diary of Júlia Szendrey, letter of János Arany to Gábor Egressy, and the final lines of the novel by József Eötvös "The Village Notary"