Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Violin Concerto No. 2


Original / Hungarian title
II. hegedűverseny
Foreign language / English title
Violin Concerto No. 2
For violin and symphony orchestra
to Vilmos Szabadi
Year of composition

vl. solo - 3 fl. (II-III anche picc.), 2 ob. (II anche, 3 cl. (III anche cl.b.), 2 fg. (II anche cfg.) - 4 cor., 3 tr., 3 trb., tuba - perc. (4 esec. - tmb.picc., tmb.picc.c.c., bongo, gr.c, 4 trg., campli., crot., camp., xil., vibr., xylorimba) - arpa, cel. - strings: 10 vl. 1, 8 vl. 2, 6 vla., 6 vlc., 4 cb.
18 min

Movements, parts
One movement

Commissioned by
Philharmonia Hungarica Marl (Germany)
Premiere information
1987, Marl (Germany), Vilmos Szabadi (vl.), The Philharmonia Hungarica, Gilbert Varga (cond.)
Publisher / Source
Editio Musica Budapest, L-74 or Z. 13427
Available here!
Hungaroton HCD-31787, 1997 - Vilmos Szabadi, (vl.), Budapest Symphony Orchestra, György Győriványi-Ráth (cond.)
1 min. sample
1 Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2
Remarks, other info
Additional performances:
1989, Concert Hall, Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest; Vilmos Szabadi, (vl.), Budapest Symphony Orchestra, György Győriványi-Ráth (cond.)