Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Pezzo Concertato


Original / Hungarian title
Pezzo Concertato
Foreign language / English title
Pezzo Concertato
Concerto for violoncello and orchestra
To László Mező
Year of composition

vlc. solo - 3 fl. (III anche picc.), 2 ob. (II anche, 3 cl. (III anche cl.b.), 2 fg. (II anche cfg.) - 4 cor., 3 tr., 3 trb., tuba - perc. (4 esec. - tmb.picc, gr.c., 2 tmb. di legno, 4 bongo, xil., marimba, crot.) - arpa, zither (or mand.), cimb., pf. (or cemb.) - strings: 12 vl. 1, 10 vl. 2, 8 vla., 6 vlc., 5 cb.
14 min

Movements, parts
1. Esposizione
2. Quasi improvvisazione I.
3. Interludio I.
4. Contrapunto e variazione
5. Interludio II.
6. Quasi improvvisazione II.
7. Organum
8. Epilogo

Commissioned by
Hungarian Radio
Premiere information
18 October 1975, 14th International Composers Competition, Theater Giuseppe Verdi, Trieste, Italy; Csaba Onczay (vlc.), Orchestra di Teatro G. Verdi, Maurizio Arena (cond.)
Publisher / Source
Editio Musica Budapest, L-18 or Z. 10203
Available here!
Hungaroton SLPX-11860, 1977 - Csaba Onczay (vlc.), Budapest Symphony Orchestra
Hungaroton HCD-31787, 1997 - Csaba Onczay (vlc.), Budapest Symphony Orchestra
1 min. sample
1 Pezzo Concertato for Cello and Orchestra
Remarks, other info
Second Prize Winner at the 14th International Composers Competition, Trieste 1975