Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work



Original / Hungarian title
Foreign language / English title
For cornet in E-flat and flugelhorn in Bb (for one player)
Year of composition

Instrumental solo
Number of players
crnt. in E-flat (anche flic.)
7 min

Movements, parts
One movement

Commissioned by
MÜPA Budapest, European Concert Hall Organisation
Premiere information
4 October 2017, Recital Hall, Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam; Tamás Pálfalvi (crnt. in E-flat, flic.)

3 November 2017; Seriers "Rising Stars", Festival Theatre, MÜPA Palace of Arts, Budapest; Tamás Pálfalvi (crnt. in E-flat, flic.) (Hungarian Premiere)
Publisher / Source
Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Mainz © 2018, TR 32 (La Tromba Series)
Available here!
Remarks, other info
"The idea of playing two instruments alternately in a single work came from Clark Terry whom I saw in a video. Alongside his virtuosity in alternating between the two instruments, I found the contrast in tonal colouring an interesting concept, almost as if a violinist changed to playing the violoncello. The small cornet in E-flat possesses a soft and velvety timbre which is closer to the flugelhorn than the better-known trumpet with its more incisive tone. "Sentimental" music requires smooth sounds. This composition is my tribute to Miles Davis and Chet Baker, two idols of my youth." (Peter Eötvös, 2017)