Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work



Original / Hungarian title
Foreign language / English title
For double bass solo and string orchestra with accordion
Year of composition

Number of players
cb. solo - acc. - strings: 6 vl. 1, 5 vl. 2, 4 vla., 3 vlc., 2 cb. (placed in the concert hall to form a triangle with the soloist)
22 min

Movements, parts
1. ♪ = 86
2. ♩ = 116
3. ♩ = 112

Commissioned by
Karajan-Akademie of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Orchestra de Chambre de Lausanne, Tongyeong International Music Festival
Premiere information
8 December 2019, Kammermusiksaal, Philharmonie, Berlin; Matthew McDonald (cb.), Scholars of the "Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker", Péter Eötvös (cond.)
Publisher / Source
Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Mainz © 2019, 58698 (On rental)

Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Mainz © 2020, KBB 22 (Piano reduction: cb. solo - pf., 2 cb.)
Available here!
Remarks, other info
"In 1971, I was flying over Anchorage in Alaska when I saw an incredible light effect through the aeroplane window: it was the aurora borealis. I have never ever seen anything so powerful or such a blaze of colour in motion. It was not only beautiful, but also extremely powerful, almost threatening and simply monumental. In my composition Aurora, I have attempted to reproduce my own impressions of this moment when I felt myself as an element of this cosmos." Peter Eötvös