Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

Senza sangue


Original / Hungarian title
Senza sangue
Foreign language / English title
Senza sangue
Opera in One Part - For Two Singers and Orchestra
Invocation to Henri Dutilleux
Year of composition

Ms., lyric Bar. - 4 fl. (II anche fl.a., III and IV. anche picc.), 2 ob.,, 3 cl. in A (III anche cl.b.), 3 fg., cfg. - 4 cor., 4 tr. (IV anche flic.), 3 trb.b., tuba - timp. (1 esec.), perc. (2 esec. - I: 2 crot., ptto. china, xil., guiro, trg., 2 ptto.sosp., 2 camp., gr.c.; II: 2 ptto.sosp., tam-tam, 8 crot., 3 burma gong, trg., tamb.b., campli., maracas) - 2 arpa, cel. - strings: 12 vl. 1, 10 vl. 2, 8 vla., 6 vlc., 4 cb.
50 min

BARICCO, Alessandro; MEZEI, Mari
Commissioned by
KölnMusuk GmbH and New York Philharmonic
Premiere information
1 May 2015, Concert "ACHT BRÜCKEN - Musik für Köln", Philharmonia Cologne, Germany; Anne Sofie von Otter (Ms.), Russell Braun (Bar.), New York Philharmonic, Alan Gilbert (cond.)

8 and 9 May 2015, Avery Fisher Hall, New York; Anne Sofie von Otter (Ms.), Russell Braun (Bar.), New York Philharmonic, Alan Gilbert (cond.)

May 15, 2016, Festival d´Avignon, Opera Grand Avignon, France; Albane Carrèr (Ms.), Romain Bockler (Bar.), Orchestre Régional Avignon-Provence, Péter Eötvös (cond.) (Scenic world première, directed by Róbert Alföldi)
Publisher / Source
Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Mainz © 2015, 54576
Available here!
BMC CD278, 2020 - Viktória Vizin (The Woman), Jordan Shanahan (The Man), Hungarian Philharmonic Orchestra, Peter Eötvös (cond.)
Remarks, other info
Composed: 2014 - 2015, revised: 2016

Libretto by Mari Mezei after the eponymous novel by Alessandro Baricco



Title Publisher
Péter Eötvös: Senza sangue BMC Records