Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

The sly students - Suite from the ballet


Original / Hungarian title
Furfangos diákok - Táncjáték-szvit
Foreign language / English title
The sly students - Suite from the ballet
For orchestra
Year of composition

Orchestral work
3 picc., 2 ob., 2 cl., 2 fg. - 4 cor., 3 tr., 3 trb., tuba - timp., perc. (tmb.mlt., gr.c., tmb.b., ptti., trg., tam-tam) - arpa - strings
20 min

Movements, parts
1. Vásár Debrecenben / Fair in Debrecen
2. Air de danse
3. Diákok tánca / Students´dance
4. Cigányzene / Gipsy-music
5. Pas de deux
6. Finale: Részeg tánc / Dance of the drunkards

Publisher / Source
Editio Musica Budapest 1951, Z. 10160 (c. 1951); Z. 1007

Editio Musica Budapest F-17 (On rental)
Available here!
Hungaroton HCD-31851, 1999 - Hungarian State Orchestra, Frigyes Sándor (cond.)
Remarks, other info
Suite from the ballet of the same title

See also: The Sly Students



Title Publisher
Farkas: Works for Orchestra Hungaroton