Composition database

This is the Composition Database of BMC, which includes information about works by composers that are either Hungarian or Hungarian by origin or live in Hungary.

Title of the work

San Francisco Polyphony


Original / Hungarian title
San Francisco Polyphony
Foreign language / English title
San Francisco Polyphony
For orchestra
For Seiji Ozawa, conductor and music director, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra
Year of composition

Symphony orchestra
Number of players
3 fl. (I anche fl.a. in so, II, III anche picc.), 3 ob. (II anche ob. d´amore, III anche, 3 cl. (II anche cl. in mi b, III anche cl.b.), 2 fg., cfg. - 2 cor., 2 tr., trb., trb.b., tuba - perc. (2 esec. - xil., campli., vibr., tam-tam., gr.c., frusta) - arpa, pf. (anche cel.) - strings: 8 vl. 1, 7 vl. 2, 6 vla., 5 vlc., 4 cb.
13 min

Movements, parts
One movement

Commissioned by
the San Francisco Symphony Association in commemoration of its 60th anniversary,through a gift from Dr. and Mrs. Ralph I. Dorfman
Premiere information
8 January 1975, San Francisco, USA; San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Seiji Ozawa (cond.)
Publisher / Source
Schott Music, Mainz © 2020, ED 6707 (study score), performance material on hire
Available here!
1 min. sample
1 San Francisco Polyphony
Remarks, other info
Year of composition: 1973-1974



Title Publisher
BIS Records
N.M. Classics
BMC Records